As part of Google’s ongoing commitment to support ambitious research in computer science and engineering, we occasionally support multi-year projects through our Focused Research Awards program. The awards are for research in areas of study that are of key interest to Google as well as the research community. These unrestricted grants are for two to three years, and the recipients have the advantage of access to Google tools, technologies, and expertise.

Unlike our Faculty Research Awards program, we do not accept unsolicited applications for Focused Research Awards. As we continue to identify key areas of research that are of mutual interest to both university researchers and Google, we will provide awards to support these collaborations. Please see our FAQs for more information.

Here are our current and past Focused Award recipients and projects:

Algorithms and Mathematical Optimization
  • Narendra Jussein, Ecole des Mines des Nantes
  • Andrea Lodi, University of Bologna
  • Pierre Lopez, French National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS)
  • Denis Trystam, Laboratoire d’Informatique de Grenoble
  • Stefan Nickel, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Safia Kedad-Sidhoum, Pierre and Marie Curie University
  • Leena Suhl, University of Paderborn
  • Pierre Bonami, Protisvalor Méditerranée
  • Prof Koch, Zuse Institute Berlin
  • Alessandro Panconesi, Flavio Chierichetti, Aris Anagnostopoulos, and Stefano Leonardi, Sapienza University of Rome
  • Paolo Boldi and Sebastiano Vigna, University of Milano
Artificial Intelligence
  • Manuela Veloso and Randy Bryant, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Victor Zue, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cloud Computing
  • Alexander Pretschner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Erez Lieberman and JB Michel, Harvard University
Economics and Market Algorithms
  • Faculty at Bar-Ilan University, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Technion, and Tel Aviv University
Energy Efficiency in Computing
  • Ricardo Bianchini, Rutgers
  • Fred Chong, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Thomas F. Wenisch, University of Michigan
  • Sudhanva Gurumurthi, University of Virginia
  • Christos Kozyrakis, Mark Horowitz, Benjamin Lee, Nick McKeown and Mendel Rosenblum, Stanford University
  • David G. Andersen and Mor Harchol-Balter, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Tajana Simunic Rosing, Steven Swanson and Amin Vahdat, University of California, San Diego
  • Thomas F. Wenisch, Trevor Mudge, David Blaauw and Dennis Sylvester, University of Michigan
  • Margaret Martonosi, Jennifer Rexford, Michael Freedman and Mung Chiang, Princeton University
  • Hannah Bast, University of Freiburg
  • Peter Sanders and Dorothea Wagner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Information Retrieval, Extraction, and Organization
  • Ed Boyden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Nancy Kopell, Boston University
  • Gerhard Weikum, Martin Theobald, and Rainer Gemulla, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Saarbruecken
Language Understanding and Knowledge Discovery
  • Maosong Sun, Tsinghua University
  • Xiaoyan Zhu, Tsinghua University
  • Masuam, Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  • Partha Pratim Talukdar, Indian Institute of Science Bangalore
Machine Learning
  • William Cohen, Christos Faloutsos, Garth Gibson, and Tom Mitchell, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Geoff Hinton, Richard Zemel, University of Toronto
  • Yann Le Cun, New York University
Machine Perception
  • Martin Vetterli, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Serge Belongie, University of California San Diego
  • Pietro Perona, California Institute of Technology
  • Panos Ipeirotis, New York University
  • Gaetano Borriello, University of Washington
  • Deborah Estrin, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Urs Hengartner, Gordon Cormack, Charles Clarke, and Michael Terry, University of Waterloo
  • Ramesh Jain, University of California, Irvine
  • Michael R. Lyu, Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Gary Chan, Hong Kong University of Science & Technology
  • Shiqiang Yang, Tsinghua University
  • Maosong Sun, Tsinghua University
  • Xiaofeng Meng, Renmin University of China
  • Philip S. Yu, University of Illinois at Chicago
Natural Language Processing
  • Andrew McCallum, University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Mark Johnson, Macquarie University
  • Hans Uszkoreit, Saarland University
  • Feiyu Xu, DFKI
  • Roberto Navigli, University of Rome La Sapienza
  • Ivan Titov, University of Amsterdam
  • Sebastian Riedel, University College London
  • Percy Liang and Chris Manning, Stanford University
  • Luke Zettlemoyer, University of Washington
  • Nick Feamster and Wenke Lee, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Shaya Fainman, Joe Ford, George Papen, and George Porter, University of California, San Diego
Open Standards
  • Jack Balkin, Yale University School of Law
  • Ed Felten, Princeton University
  • Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Ryan Calo, Stanford University
  • Andy Hopper, University of Cambridge
  • Prof. Kagermann, German Academy of Science and Technology (Acatech)
  • Salil Vadhan and Latanya Sweeny, Harvard University Berkman Center
  • David Basin, Srdjan Capkun, Ueli Mauer and Bernhard Plattner, Zurich Information Security and Privacy Center, ETH Zurich
  • Aaron Roth, University of Pennsylvania
  • L Jean Camp, Indiana University
  • Daniel Kifer, Pennsylvania State University
  • Vern Paxson, International Computer Science Institute
  • Norman Sadeh, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Stephen Hand and Robert Watson, University of Cambridge
  • Dan Boneh and David Mazieres, Stanford University
  • Anthony Joseph, Dawn Song, Scott Shenker, Vern Paxson, Doug Tygar, and David Wagner; University of California, Berkeley
  • Collin Jackson, Carnegie Mellon University - Cylab
  • Nickolai Zeldovich, Frans Kaashoek and Robert Morris, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Sean W. Smith, Dartmouth University
  • Stefan Savage, Geoffrey M Voelker, and Kirill Levchenko, University of California, San Diego
Social Computing
  • Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University
  • Zachary Ives, Sudipto Guha, Andreas Haeberlen, Michael Kearns, and Aaron Roth, University of Pennsylvania
  • Michael Franklin, Michael Jordan, Ion Stoica, Alex Bayen, Armando Fox, Tim Kraska, Anthony Joseph, Randy Katz, Justin Ma, David Patterson, Purna Sarkar, and Scott Shenker, University of California, Berkeley
  • Gary Olson and Judy Olson, University of California, Irvine
  • Anne-Marie Kermarrec, INRIA
  • Rachid Guerraoui, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
Social Interactions
  • Joseph Konstan, Loren Terveen, and John Riedl, University of Minnesota
  • Mor Naaman, Rutgers University
  • Oded Nov, Polytechnic Institute of New York University
  • Paul Resnick, Eytan Adar, and Cliff Lampe, University of Michigan
  • Marti Hearst, University of California Berkeley
  • David Karger and Rob Miller, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Robert Kraut, Laura Dabbish, Jason Hong, and Aniket Kittur, Carnegie Mellon University
Software and Hardware Systems Infrastructure
  • George Candea, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
  • Andreas Zeller, University of Saarland
  • Gordon Fraser, University of Sheffield
  • Manfred Broy, Technical University of Munich
Structured Data
  • Jeff Naughton, AnHai Doan, Jignesh Patel, Chris Re, University of Wisconsin
  • Mike Carey, University of California Irvine

Learn more about our Focused Awards Program in our FAQs.